Candidates certified for ballot

Published 11:41 am Wednesday, June 19, 2019

With June 11 being the deadline for candidates to file to run for local office in November on the Charlotte County ballot, Voter Registrar Nan Lambert said on Thursday that the following individuals had been certified either by petitions or the Republican Party to have their names placed on the Nov. 5 ballot.

Commonwealth’s Attorney: William E. Green Jr.

Commissioner of the Revenue: Naisha P. Carter

Treasurer: Patricia P. Berkeley
Green, Carter and Berkeley are all incumbents.

Sheriff: Royal S. Freeman and J. E. “Joe” Carey Sr. Carey has been certified by the Republican Party.

Board of Supervisors:
Bacon/Saxe: Will D. Garnett and J. Shane Newcombe.
Both Garnett and Newcombe are new candidates seeking the Bacon/Saxe District seat. The Republican Party has certified Newcombe.

County Seat: Gary D. Walker. Walker is an incumbent and has been certified by the Republican Party.

Cullen/Red House: M. Anthony “Tony” Reeves, Nadine R. Pannell and Cornell B. “Brick” Goldman. Reeves, Pannell and Goldman are all newcomers seeking the Cullen/Red House District seat.

Drakes Branch: Garland H. “Butch” Hamlett, Jr. Hamlett is the current Chairman of the Charlotte County Board of Supervisors and is running unopposed.

School Board:

Bacon/Saxe: Incumbent, JonPaul H. Berkley will appear on the November ballot.

County Seat: Angela Bernice Cook is running unopposed and is a newcomer seeking election.

Cullen/Red House: Alicia G. Adams and Russell S. “Scotty” Hamlett are both seeking the school board seat and are newcomers.

Drakes Branch: Incumbent, Gloria J. Talbott is seeking to retain her seat on the school board.

Soil And Water Conservation Director Southside District:

Incumbents Eugene D. Wells, Jr. and Davey Ferrell will both appear on the November ballot.

When voters head to the polls this fall they will have many choices on the ballot, some more than in past elections for Charlotte County. “The increase in candidates can be attributed to the incumbents for those seats not seeking re-election. It appears the incumbents who have chosen to run for re-election are not being challenged,” explained Lambert.