VHSL proposes new realignment

Published 11:14 am Wednesday, January 6, 2016

The Virginia High School League (VHSL) has released a proposed two-year realignment plan that would begin in the 2017-18 academic year.

Currently, the VHSL follows a 12-region alignment, in which schools are separated into six classifications that are split between two regions, that are then split into conferences.

The proposed plan reflects a 24-region realignment with each classification separated into four regions without conferences.

In the proposal, Randolph-Henry High School, which is currently in the 2A West Region in Courthouse Conference 37, would be classified as 2A South Region with other schools such as Amelia, Bluestone, Goochland, Prince Edward and Nottoway.

“We requested this move in October of 2015,” said Randolph-Henry High School Athletic Director Chris Holt.

“The move would align us with all current James River District teams … The move would aid in travel-related logistical issues including post-season contests.”

The proposed realignment must be approved by the VHSL Executive Committee before the change would take place.

Under the VHSL proposal, the new regions would be:


East: Colonial Beach, Charles City, Chincoteague, Essex, Franklin, King & Queen, Lancaster, Mathews, Middlesex, Northampton, Northumberland, Rappahannock, Surry County, Sussex Central, West Point and Windsor.

Mid-East: Altavista, Appomattox Regional Governor’s School, William Campbell, Carver College Career Academy, Central-Lunenburg, Cumberland, Galileo Magnet School, Stonewall Jackson-Quicksburg, Luray, Rappahannock County and Riverheads.

Mid-West: Auburn, Bath County, Bland County, Covington, Craig County, Eastern Montgomery, Fort Chiswell, Galax, Highland, Parry McCluer, Narrows, Radford, Rural Retreat and George Wythe-Wytheville.

Far West: John I. Burton, Castlewood, Chilhowie, Council, Eastside, Patrick Henry-Glade Spring, Holston, Honaker, Hurley, Northwood, Rye Cove, Twin Springs, Twin Valley and Thomas Walker.


South: Amelia County, Arcadia, Bluestone, Bruton, Brunswick, Goochland, Greensville County, King William, Nandua, Nottoway, Prince Edward County, Randolph-Henry, Maggie Walker and Washington & Lee.

North: Buffalo Gap, Central-Woodstock, Clarke County, East Rockingham, Robert E. Lee-Staunton, Madison County, George Mason, Nelson County, Page County, Strasburg, Stuarts Draft and Wilson Memorial.

Central: Appomattox County, Buckingham County, Chatham, Dan River, Floyd County, Giles, Glenvar, Gretna, James River-Buchanan and Martinsville.

West: John Battle, Wise Central, Gate City, Graham, Grayson County, Grundy, Lebanon, Lee, Marion, Richlands, Ridgeview, Tazewell, Union and Virginia High.


Southeast Region: Colonial Heights, Lakeland, New Kent, I.C. Norcom, Park View-South Hill, Phoebus, Poquoson, Southampton, Tabb, Warhill, Booker T. Washington and York.

Northeast Region: Armstrong, Brentsville, Culpeper County, Hopewell, Thomas Jefferson-Richmond, Manassas Park, John Marshall, James Monroe, William Monroe, Petersburg, Riverside, Skyline, Spotsylvania, Warren County and George Wythe-Richmond.

Region 3: Broadway, Brookville, Fluvanna County, Fort Defiance, Heritage-Lynchburg, Liberty-Bedford, Monticello, Rockbridge County, Rustburg, Spotswood, Turner Ashby, Waynesboro and Western Albemarle.

Region 4: Abingdon, Alleghany, Blacksburg, Cave Spring, Christiansburg, Hidden Valley, Lord Botetourt, Magna Vista, Northside, Patrick County, Staunton River and Tunstall.


East Region: Churchland, Deep Creek, Denbigh, Grafton, Great Bridge, Heritage-Newport News, Jamestown, King’s Fork, Lafayette, Lake Taylor, Smithfield and Woodrow Wilson.

Central Region: Caroline, Chancellor, Courtland, Dinwiddie, Eastern View, Hanover, Huguenot, King George, Louisa County, Midlothian, Monacan and Powhatan.

North Region: John Champe, Dominion, Fauquier, Freedom-Loudoun, John Handley, Harrisonburg, Heritage-Leesburg, Kettle Run, Liberty-Bealeton, Loudoun County, Loudoun Valley, Millbrook, Park View-Sterling, Rock Ridge, Sherando, James Wood and Woodgrove.

West Region: Amherst County, Bassett, William Byrd, Carroll County, Charlottesville, William Fleming, E.C. Glass, Jefferson Forest, Liberty Christian, Pulaski County, Salem and George Washington.


Eastern Region: Bethel, Gloucester, Green Run, Hampton, Hickory, Indian River, Kecoughtan, Kempsville, Maury, Menchville, Nansemond River, Norview, Princess Anne, Salem and Warwick.

Central Region: L.C. Bird, Deep Run, Douglas Freeman, Glen Allen, Mills Godwin, Henrico, Hermitage, Highland Springs, Lee-Davis, Matoaca, Meadowbrook, Prince George, J.R. Tucker and Varina.

North Region: Briar Woods, Broad Run, Thomas Edison, Falls Church, Thomas Jefferson-Alexandria, Robert E. Lee-Springfield, George Marshall, Potomac Falls, Stone Bridge, J.E.B. Stuart, Tuscarora and Wakefield.

West Region: Albemarle, Atlee, Brooke Point, Halifax County, Patrick Henry-Ashland, Patrick Henry-Roanoke, Massaponax, Mountain View, North Stafford, Orange County, Potomac and Stafford.


Region 1: Bayside, Frank Cox, First Colonial, Granby, Grassfield, Floyd Kellam, Landstown, Ocean Lakes, Oscar Smith, Tallwood, Western Branch and Woodside.

Region 2: Clover Hill, Colonial Forge, Cosby, Thomas Dale, Franklin County, James Rive, Manchester and Riverbend.

Region 3: Annandale, Colgan, Fairfax, Forest Park, Freedom-Prince William, Gar-Field, Hayfield, C.D. Hylton, Lake Braddock, Mount Vernon, James Robinson, South County, West Potomac, West Springfield, T.C. Williams, Woodbridge and W.T. Woodson.

Region 4: Battlefield, Centreville, Chantilly, Herndon, Stonewall Jackson-Manassas, Langley, James Madison, McLean, Oakton, Osbourn, Osbourn Park, Patriot, South Lakes, Washington-Lee, Westfield and Yorktown.