• 81°

A message to our readers

The Charlotte Gazette staff has been working hard in recent days to ensure that we remain — both in print and online — a trusted source of information in scary and uncertain times.

As the global story and its impact on this community unfolds literally by the minute, online publishing becomes more important than ever by providing timely, accurate information to citizens.

Similarly, we are reducing by half the cost of advertising space for for-profit entities to provide coronavirus-related information to the community. We will also devote as much news space as needed to provide important information from governmental and non-profit organizations.

Here are a couple of things that will be different for The Charlotte Gazette readers and customers until things return to normal.
After today’s edition there will be no Sports section in the print edition, as all high school, college and pro sports have been suspended until further notice. Until competition resumes, we will continue to publish relevant sports news as it occurs, but it will appear on other pages of the newspaper.

Readers are asked to contact us via our telephone number — 434-568-3341 — or the respective email addresses:
Publisher: Betty.Ramsey@TheCharlotteGazette.com
Editor: Roger.Watson@TheCharlotteGazette.com
Operations manager: Staci.Bridge@TheCharlotteGazette.com
Obituaries: Wanda.Fix@TheCharlotteGazette.com
Advertising director: Jackie.Newman@TheCharlotteGazette.com
Calendar and church news: social@TheCharlotteGazette.com
Accounts receivable/circulation: Regina.Caraway@TheCharlotteGazette.com

We appreciate Charlotte County government and civic leaders, the business community and citizen volunteers for their collective efforts to guide our area through whatever challenges await in the days and weeks ahead. We stand proudly with them in journalistic service to Charlotte County.

Betty J. Ramsey is publisher of The Charlotte Gazette. Her email address is Betty.Ramsey@TheCharlotteGazette.com.