First R-H Hall of Fame class

Published 9:32 am Wednesday, April 18, 2018

The inaugural induction class for the Randolph-Henry High School Athletic Hall of Fame was announced last week, featuring graduates from 1957 to 2003 and three state championship teams.

Randolph-Henry Assistant Principal and Athletic Director Chris Holt said the selection process was a real education for the selection committee. He noted there were nominees that he did not remember but that were significant contributors to the school and its athletic program.

“Some went on to play college athletics, and some have been big contributors to our community for years,” he said. “So it’s really been a good exercise in history for our committee.”

The committee was comprised of Holt, Randolph-Henry Principal Robbie Mason, Dick Bankston, Monique Williams and Freddie Stovall.

The inaugural class includes Burl Clements, Gene Gryder, Herbert Moss, Billy Elliott, Larry Dunn, Barbara Wilmoth, Dick Bankston, Kelly Powell, Deborah Laine, Stacey Lee, Freddie Stovall, Michael Haskins, Monique Williams, Mary Dunlap and George Gaines.

The state championship teams to be inducted include the 2002 and 2005 baseball squads and the 2005 golf team.

We will provide more coverage of the inaugural class leading up to the Oct. 19-20 induction festivities.