Tennis community honors R-H girls

Published 9:58 am Wednesday, July 26, 2017

The Lady Statesmen were recently honored by the local tennis community with a dinner and awards ceremony held at Charlotte Country Club in Charlotte Court House.

The ladies and gentlemen of the tennis community in the area and from Farmville worked hard all season supporting the team as hitting partners, simulating match play, supplying additional equipment, attending matches at home and on the road and in many other ways.

The adults thanked the student-athletes for their dedication to their academic workload, their athletic excellence, their communities and to supporting each other as quality tennis players and young women.

They encouraged the young ladies to “pay it forward” by teaching others to play as they have been taught.

Coach Lindsay Webb expressed the appreciation of the coaches and team to the supporters and families of the athletes. On her behalf and that of her other coaches, Murrie Bates, Jean Algeier, and Shannon Feinman, Webb noted it was difficult to adequately express how much it meant to the team to have the support and presence of their community.

Gifts were presented to the coaches from the team. The players enjoyed sharing their championship trophies with the group, representing their status as Quad Rivers Conference 34 champions and James River District champions.

Coach Webb noted that every player made significant contributions to the team this year and that the coming year looked to be in shape to continue the strong winning streak from the last four seasons.

She announced a variety of individual awards for her players.

Team Captain Meredith Feinman was named the team’s Co-Most Valuable Player after a year in which she was the conference singles champion, conference Player of the Year and with teammate Couper Webb, the conference doubles champion and a member of the conference Doubles Team of the Year.

Webb, another team captain, was the other Co-Most Valuable Player. She was a conference singles finalist.

Eliza Walker received the Most Potential Award, and McKenzie Sharpe received the Most Improved Award.

Team Captain Helen Lin was the recipient of the Coaches Award.

The Sportsmanship Award went to Taylor Jones along with special recognition as a postseason practice partner.

Grace Algeier was a first-year varsity player and gained special recognition as a postseason practice partner. Calynn Trent, also a first-year varsity player, received a varsity letter.