Drakes Branch Fire and Rescue 2016 call report

Published 10:14 am Wednesday, February 8, 2017

Drakes Branch Fire and Rescue has released its annual call report for 2016.

In the release, department officials thanked the community for its “overwhelming support over the past year. We look forward to serving you in 2017.”

“As a reminder, meetings are held on the second Monday of each month at 7 p.m.,” officials said. “Not only is the general public invited to attend, but they are encouraged to. As always, thank you for your support.”

The officers for 2017 are Kenny Tharpe, chief; James Napier, first assistant; Derrick Thompson, second assistant; Jason Hudson, captain; Ross Russell, captain; Todd Garnett, lieutenant; Kent Garnett, lieutenant; Thomas Rothwell, sergeant; James Gordon, sergeant; Aileen Cassada, EMS captain; Ronnie Card, safety officer; and Justin Hicks, chaplain.   

The 2017 board of directors includes Charlie Hancock, president; Jason Hudson, secretary/treasurer; Clarence Hamlett, member; Wade Setzer, member; Ronnie Card, member; Jayson Dix, member; and Thomas Rothwell, member.

In 2016, the agency responded to:

• 82 calls emergency medical calls,

• 22 structure fires: 22 calls,

• 18 brush/forest/field fires,

• 16 Motor vehicle accidents,

• 10 calls for assistance,

• 6 vehicle/equipment calls, and

• 4 alarm calls.