Town offices on ballot

Published 3:57 pm Wednesday, November 2, 2016

There will be some familiar names on the ballot for voters in Charlotte Court House, Keysville and Phenix on Nov. 8.

Most people in the county will see the choices for president and vice president, two Constitution of Virginia amendments and the race for the U.S. 5th District Congressional seat. In the three towns, however, there are races for mayor and town council seats.

According to sample ballots provided by the Charlotte County registrar’s office, voters in Charlotte Court House be casting votes between Terrill W. “Terry” Ramsey and Shelby J. Walker to finish an unexpired term to end Dec. 31, 2018.

In Keysville, Mayor Audrey H. Payne is on the ballot running for re-election unopposed.

Also running unopposed for re-election is Phenix Mayor Thomas Franklin Dodd. Meanwhile, Phenix voters will also be selecting up to five of seven candidates for Phenix Town Council: Rachel H. Canada, Rodney Childress, Dean Evans, Claire R. Hancock, Emily M. Lawhorne, Ann T. Newcomb and Gladys Haskins Reid.

There are also some polling place changes in Charlotte County.

Voters in the Cullen/Red House District will now vote at White Oak Grove Baptist Church, 2265 Harvey Road, Phenix. Also, the Bacon precinct is no longer a polling place. All voters in the Bacon/Saxe District will now vote at the Southall Community Building, 6206 Saxkey Road, Saxe.

Polls will be open Tuesday from 6 a.m.-7 p.m.