Corrections awards banquet held

Published 8:22 am Wednesday, June 8, 2016

Southside Virginia Community College held the eighth annual Corrections Awards Banquet at the Christanna Campus on April 21. This event recognizes the Officer of the Year and Employee of the Year for correctional facilities in the area of the college. Kenneth J. Reagans, assistant warden of operations at Lawrenceville Correctional Center, was guest speaker. Those who received awards are, from left, front row, Cassandra Roberts, employee, Halifax Correctional Unit 23; Rosa L. Booker, employee, Dillwyn Correctional Center; Officer Alease J. Royall, Buckingham Correctional; Linda H. Mayo, employee, Lawrenceville Correctional; Alfonzo Seward, SVCC criminal justice assistant professor; LaCretia Watkins, employee, Lunenburg Correctional; Cindy F. Spencer, employee, Nottoway Correctional; Officer Betty J. Wardell, Nottoway Correctional; Officer Lisa V. Pearson, Lawrenceville Correctional; back row, Officer Michael Gary, Greensville Correctional; Dr. Tara Carter, SVCC vice president for academic and student affairs; John A. Stearrett III, employee, Buckingham Correctional; Officer James D. Jackson of Halifax Correctional; Paul E. Hawkins, employee, Deerfield Correctional; Lt. Jeanette S. Minggia, Deerfield Correctional; Robin Y. Ramsey, employee, Greensville Correctional; Dale C. Compton; and Dr. Chad Patton, SVCC dean.