Cub Creek Church cemetery visited
Published 7:43 am Thursday, February 11, 2016
By Elise R. Myers
The Charlotte Gazette
Since 1938, the historic Cub Creek Church site and cemetery has been owned by the Association for Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, later known as Preservation Virginia.
Last year, Preservation Virginia deeded the property to the Charlotte County APVA.
With the future of the property in mind, several members of the Charlotte County APVA Board of Directors recently visited the historic Cub Creek property.
Members were on site to evaluate the property and assess the future needs for preservation of what remains, education of its part of history in Charlotte County and accessibility of those wishing to visit.
Though not much remains of the historic Cub Creek property, it contains a rich and vibrant history that is only known and appreciated by a few historians and genealogists today.
Around 1738, a group of Scotch-Irish led by John Caldwell came to “the back parts of Virginia” and established what became known as the Caldwell community in a 5- or 6-mile area on the Cub, Wallace and Turnip creeks and bounded on the south by the Stanton River.
The first structure was known as the Caldwell Meeting House, and was built about that time and was probably of log construction. From these humble beginnings, many families and local churches evolved.
Unfortunately, in 1937 the Cub Creek Church was in the process of being repaired when a fire, which was carelessly started too close to the church steps, ignited the old church into flames.
If you’re interested in being a part of this organization, please contact P.O. Box 104, Charlotte Court House, Va., 23923.