State Police Alumni Association hold conference

Published 5:39 pm Wednesday, January 13, 2016

By Elsie Meyers

The 137th Virginia State Police Alumni Association held its winter conference at the Fort Magruder Hotel recently.

Accommodations and food were very good. Everyone seemed to be in a good holiday spirit and a festive atmosphere throughout the conference.

Beyond the conference, lots of shopping was accomplished and many people toured Williamsburg.

The annual reports were given, and the group was thanked for giving their time to work in the gift shop, museums and community services.

The memorial service was given by Bill Godwin. John and Lynn Ronele were hospitality coordinators for the convention.

The officers elected were: J. Wayne Timberlake, president; Ronald M. Krancish, vice president; Robert M. McCullough, secretary; Ralph Figgers, treasurer; Stanley Molah, sergeant at arms; and Art King, hospitality coordinator.

The division representatives are: Gerald W. Gittengi, division one; Roger Mitchell, district two; Douglas McGee, division three; Gary Taylor, division four, William F. Carvella, division five; Lonnie Craft, division six; and David Lee Powell, division seven.

Serving on the board of trustees are Ben Beasley, Jim Nichols and Howard Gregory.

Approximately 140 people attended the conference.