Voters elect new supervisors

Published 6:15 pm Friday, November 5, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

In unofficial poll results as of press time on Tuesday, Nov. 2, Charlotte County voters have elected a new supervisor for the Red Oak/Wylliesburg District for the Board of Supervisors.

According to the Virginia Department of Elections, absentee ballots may be accepted until noon on Nov. 5. Therefore, the results are incomplete. Results will be certified on Nov. 15.

At the polls, in Red Oak/Wylliesburg, voters chose Hazel Bowman Smith with 57.72% of the vote over opponent Larry Newcomb who received 41.54%.

There were five write-ins for the Red Oak/Wylliesburg BOS District seat.

The Red Oak/Wylliesburg seat is currently held by Kay Pierantoni, who announced that she would not seek reelection after one term earlier this year.

Current Phenix/Aspen Supervisor Donna Fore sought reelection to her board seat against Walter Bailey.

Voters in the Phenix/Aspen District chose Bailey with 61.71% of the vote to Fore’s 37.77%.

There were four write-ins for the Phenix/Aspen BOS District seat

Keysville District BOS incumbent member R.L. “Butch” Shook Jr. ran unopposed and retained his seat with 97.97% of the vote.

There were 13 write-ins for the Keysville BOS District seat.

The Charlotte County School Board also had several seats up for election this November, including seats in the districts of Red Oak/Wylliesburg, Keysville, Phenix/Aspen and County Seat.

Current appointed school board member Carmalita G. Escoto received 37.38% of the votes at the polls, while voters gave E. Ennis Jones 61.43% of the vote.

This election was to fill the unexpired term that was held by Angela Cook.

Cook resigned in 2020, and Escoto was appointed to fill her position.

In the Phenix/Aspen District seat, incumbent Robert “Bobby” Johnson sought reelection to his seat on the school board; however, voters gave his opponent Elise A. Green 58.58% of the vote.

Johnson received 40.90%.

Voters in the Red Oak/Wylliesburg and Keysville District will see no change as incumbents Teresa T. Dunaway and R.B. “Jay” George sought reelection without opposition.

Teresa T. Dunaway received 96.27% of the vote with 21 write-ins.

R.B. “Jay” George received 97.15% of the vote with nine write-ins.

The Charlotte Court House Town Council held a Special Election to fill a vacant seat. No candidate filed for the seat; however, 43 write-in votes were cast.